Desperately Seeking Comfy Shoes (That don’t look like Grandma’s)

Attention Shoe Designers and Manufacturers – What are you thinking?  I currently see two types of shoes on the market; those with 5+ inch heels for the woman who has everything and wants to meet an orthopedist or podiatrist, or flats with no padding for the woman who wants to feel every bump and pebble on their path.  Neither will work for me, I’m one of those women with ‘difficult feet syndrome’, meaning that I have to try on dozens of pairs of shoes, sandals, boots and sneakers to find anything that might fit my feet, my budget and don’t look like Granny shoes.

I am planning a trip for this fall that will include miles and miles of walking on city streets, through museums and historic cobblestone passages.  Those 5+ inch heels are not a potential choice, and neither are any other uncomfortable shoes.  I’ve decided I don’t want to wear sneakers, they don’t fit my ‘urban chic’ esthetic – I don’t want to look like a tourist.  I’ve been shopping for comfortable yet stylish shoes for two whole months.  I’ve been shopping at Nordstrom’s sale, The Walking Store, every ‘Comfort’ shoe store in two states and of course on line.  It’s looking bleak.  I may have to give up and wear ugly footwear if I can’t find anything in the next two weeks.  Are my standards too high?  Are my arches too low?

Please send me your suggestions, I’m tapped out.

Leave a comment